Marketing12 min readSourced Data

Affiliate Marketing Statistics 2026: 100+ Sourced Figures

Affiliate marketing statistics for 2026, each sourced: US spend and sales, commission schedules, cookie rules, disclosure enforcement and publisher filings.

Digital Applied Team
April 21, 2026• Updated October 21, 2026
12 min read
$13.62B

US affiliate marketing spend, 2024 (PMA estimate)

9.4%

Share of US ecommerce sales from affiliate, 2024 (PMA)

4%

Amazon Associates default commission (0–10% by category)

12.2%

YouTube affiliate videos clearly meeting FTC disclosure guidelines (2026 study)

Key Takeaways

US affiliate spend reached an estimated $13.62 billion in 2024: The Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 study puts US spend up 49.8% from $9.1 billion in 2021 and credits affiliate marketing with $113 billion, or 9.4%, of US ecommerce sales. There is no audited global total.
Retail’s share of affiliate spend is falling: Retail took 63% of US affiliate spend in 2024, down from 76% in 2021, while financial services, travel and telecommunications gained share, according to the PMA.
Commission rates are set per program, not by an industry average: Amazon Associates pays 0% to 10% by category with a 4% default; eBay Partner Network pays 1% to 4% of the sale price. No network was found publishing median rates by vertical.
Safari and Firefox, not Chrome, limit affiliate cookies: Safari caps script-set cookies at seven days and blocks third-party cookies; Firefox isolates cookies per site. Google kept third-party cookies in Chrome and in October 2025 said it would retire most Privacy Sandbox technologies.
Disclosure compliance is still low: Only 20% of 576 influencers in the EU’s 2024 sweep systematically disclosed commercial content, and a 2026 study found 12.20% of YouTube affiliate videos clearly met FTC guidelines.
Publishers name search as their main risk: 69% of publishers in the PMA’s 2025 survey are concerned about Google’s algorithm changes and AI Overviews; BuzzFeed received 28% of its 2025 revenue from Amazon, mostly affiliate commissions.

How big is affiliate marketing in 2026, what do programs pay and what rules govern it? Many affiliate statistics in circulation have no traceable source, and the global market-size figures that get repeated most often come from roundups or from market-report sellers whose reports are not public.

This page collects affiliate figures read at the publisher’s own page, filing or report: the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 US industry study, IAB UK’s study with PwC and IAB Australia’s 2026 survey, company filings from listed affiliate publishers, Amazon’s and eBay’s published commission schedules, browser vendors’ tracking rules, FTC, European Commission, ASA and CMA disclosure rules and findings, and two academic studies of affiliate disclosure on YouTube. Every row names its source and period, and figures were last checked on October 21, 2026. For help applying them to your own program, see our paid media work.

How Big Is Affiliate Marketing? What Is Measured

There is no audited global figure for affiliate marketing spend. The most detailed recent estimate covers the US: the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 study, built with London Research from eight affiliate networks and more than 50 publishers, puts US affiliate spend at $13.62 billion in 2024, up 49.8% from $9.1 billion in 2021. It credits affiliate marketing with $113 billion of US ecommerce sales, 9.4% of the total.

eMarketer’s forecast, made in August 2024, measures the same market differently: it counts commissions paid to publishers and puts 2024 at $10.72 billion, rising to $13.20 billion in 2026, so its 2026 figure is still below the PMA’s estimate for 2024. The two series use different methods, so quote the source and year with the figure and do not compare numbers across them. The most recent IAB UK and PwC study of UK affiliate spend measured £554 million in 2017.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
$13.62 billionUS affiliate marketing spend in 2024, as estimated in the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 industry study (data from eight affiliate networks and more than 50 publishers, with London Research); the release headline rounds it to $13.63 billionPMA, read Oct 21, 2026 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
$9.1 billionUS affiliate marketing spend in 2021, the baseline of the Performance Marketing Association’s previous industry studyPMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
14.42%Compound annual growth rate of US affiliate marketing spend, 2021 to 2024 (49.8% in total), which the Performance Marketing Association calls twice the pace of the broader US ecommerce marketPMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
$113 billionUS ecommerce sales generated by affiliate marketing investment in 2024, according to the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 studyPMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
9.4%Share of all US ecommerce sales generated by affiliate marketing in 2024, according to the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 studyPMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
15–20%Estimated share of sales that affiliate marketing generates for US companies that use it, 2024 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
$13.20 billionUS affiliate marketing spend in 2026, as forecast by eMarketer in August 2024 (the date on the article’s chart; the article text says August 2025, a date after its November 2024 publication). eMarketer counts commissions paid to publishers and puts 2024 at $10.72 billion, a lower base than the Performance Marketing Association’s $13.62 billioneMarketer, Nov 20, 2024 · chart: EMARKETER Forecast, Aug 2024Forecast
£554 millionUK affiliate marketing spend in 2017, up 15.1% from £482 million in 2016 (IAB UK and PwC, covering networks, SaaS platforms and major in-house programs; the most recent IAB UK/PwC affiliate spend study)IAB UK/PwC, 2018 · full-year 2017 dataEstimate (industry body)
£8.9 billionUK sales generated by affiliate marketing in 2017, up 9.2% year on year (IAB UK and PwC)IAB UK/PwC, 2018 · full-year 2017 dataEstimate (industry body)
49%Year-on-year growth in UK affiliate spend on smartphones, 2017 (IAB UK and PwC)IAB UK/PwC, 2018 · full-year 2017 dataEstimate (industry body)

Spend by Sector and Market

Retail still takes the largest share of US affiliate spend, but less of it than it did: 63% in 2024 against 76% in 2021, according to the PMA. Financial services, travel and telecommunications all gained share. The PMA also reports returns on affiliate spend by sector, with travel at $19 of sales per dollar and retail at $11.

No public source breaks affiliate spend down by region or country in a consistent way. The figures below are what national studies publish: US sector shares and returns from the PMA, the UK’s 2017 sector mix from IAB UK and PwC, and spend bands from IAB Australia’s 2026 survey, which describes its own sample rather than the whole market.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
63%Retail’s share of US affiliate marketing spend in 2024, down from 76% in 2021 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
15%Financial services’ share of US affiliate marketing spend in 2024, up from 12% in 2021 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
9%Travel’s share of US affiliate marketing spend in 2024, up from 5% in 2021 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
7%Telecommunications’ share of US affiliate marketing spend in 2024, up from 3% in 2021 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
$19 per $1Return on affiliate ad spend in US travel, 2024 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
$11 per $1Return on affiliate ad spend in US retail overall, 2024 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
$21 per $1Return on affiliate ad spend for US department stores, the highest of the retail categories, 2024; office supplies $20 and automotive parts $19 (Performance Marketing Association)PMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataEstimate (industry body)
43%Retail’s share of UK affiliate revenue in 2017, the largest of any sector (IAB UK and PwC)IAB UK/PwC, 2018 · full-year 2017 dataEstimate (industry body)
54%Share of Australian advertiser and agency respondents spending $50,000 or more a month on affiliate and partnership marketing, 2026 (IAB Australia survey, 66 respondents; agencies gave average spend per client; the report does not state the currency and says this reflects its sample, not industry-wide spend)IAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)

Commission Rates: What Programs Publish

No network was found publishing median commission rates by vertical, and the commission medians that circulate have no traceable source. What can be checked are the schedules that programs publish. Amazon Associates pays fixed rates by product category, from 10% on luxury beauty down to 0% on gift cards and other excluded categories, with 4% for anything not listed, plus flat bounties for actions such as Prime sign-ups. eBay Partner Network pays 1% to 4% of the sale price, with a cap per sale.

Most brand programs on networks set their own rates and do not publish them in a comparable form, so a published schedule from one large program is not a market average. Commission is also only one term: the attribution window and the excluded categories decide how much of a referral earns anything.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
10%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Luxury Beauty, Luxury Stores Beauty and Amazon Explore, the highest fixed rate in the scheduleAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
5%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Digital Music, Physical Music, Handmade and Digital VideosAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
4.5%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Physical Books, Kitchen and AutomotiveAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
4%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Apparel, Shoes, Jewelry, Watches, Luggage, Handbags & Accessories, Luxury Stores Fashion and Amazon devices (Kindle, Fire, Echo, Ring)Amazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
3%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Toys, Furniture, Home, Home Improvement, Lawn & Garden, Pet Products, Headphones, Beauty, Musical Instruments, Outdoors, Tools, Sports and Baby ProductsAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
2.5%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: PC, PC Components and DVD & Blu-Ray; Televisions and Digital Video Games earn 2%Amazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
1%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Amazon Fresh, Grocery, Health & Personal Care and physical video games and consolesAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
0%Amazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: Gift Cards, Wireless Service Plans, Alcoholic Beverages, vehicle leasing and sales, restaurant delivery and other excluded categoriesAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
4% defaultAmazon Associates (US) fixed commission rate on qualifying purchases: All Other Categories not named in the scheduleAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
$12Amazon Associates (US) flat bounty for a referred customer who signs up for a Prime free trial or buys a Prime membershipAmazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
$25Amazon Associates (US) flat bounty for a referred Audible Premium Plus annual membership, the largest consumer bounty in the schedule; an Amazon Business account registration pays $15Amazon Associates, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
4%eBay Partner Network commission as a share of the sale price: Fashion (clothing, shoes and accessories; health and beauty; jewelry and watches) and All Other categories, capped at $550 per saleeBay Partner Network, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
4% (cap $100)eBay Partner Network commission as a share of the sale price: eBay Motors, capped at $100 per saleeBay Partner Network, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
3%eBay Partner Network commission as a share of the sale price: Collectibles, Home & Garden, Lifestyle, Media and Vehicle Parts & Accessories, capped at $550 per saleeBay Partner Network, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
1.5%eBay Partner Network commission as a share of the sale price: Computers, Tablets & Networking, capped at $550; cameras, phones, TV and video games pay 2%eBay Partner Network, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
1%eBay Partner Network commission as a share of the sale price: Real Estate, capped at $100 per sale, the lowest rate on the cardeBay Partner Network, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule

Use published schedules as reference points, not targets. A rate only means something next to the program’s attribution window and its exclusions, which the tracking section below covers. For how Meta’s affiliate program for creators works with Amazon and eBay links, see our guide to the Facebook affiliate program.

Networks and Programs: What They Disclose

No public dataset of affiliate network market share was found, so share figures for Awin, CJ, Impact or Rakuten Advertising cannot be checked. Networks disclose their own scale. Awin, for example, says it generated £18 billion in revenue for advertisers and £1.2 billion for publishers in its last financial year, without stating the year or method.

The landscape has also consolidated. Awin has owned ShareASale since 2017, began moving its users onto the Awin platform in mid-2025 with the ShareASale platform due to close by the end of 2025, and shareasale.com now redirects to Awin. Surveys show how programs are run: in IAB Australia’s 2026 survey, 42% of advertisers manage their program in-house and 29% use a network.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
£18 billionRevenue Awin says it generated for its advertisers in its last financial year (no year or method stated)Awin, read Oct 21, 2026Vendor claim
£1.2 billionRevenue Awin says it generated for its publishers (affiliates) in its last financial yearAwin, read Oct 21, 2026Vendor claim
30,000Advertisers on the Awin network, as stated on its about page, alongside “1m” publishersAwin, read Oct 21, 2026Vendor claim
2017Year Awin took ownership of the ShareASale network; Awin began moving ShareASale accounts onto its own platform from mid-2025, and shareasale.com now redirects to AwinAwin, Mar 10, 2025; read Oct 21, 2026Official (company-reported)
End of 2025Date Awin set for closing the ShareASale platform once all users had moved to Awin (announced March 2025)Awin, Mar 10, 2025; read Oct 21, 2026Official (company-reported)
42%Share of Australian advertisers that run their affiliate program in-house, 2026; 29% use a network, up from 19% in 2025 (IAB Australia survey, 45 advertisers)IAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
59%Share of senior marketers in a repeat survey for Awin at the end of 2024 (sample size not stated; the 2023 wave had almost 700) who had email and newsletter partners in their affiliate programAwin, Jun 24, 2025Survey (vendor-commissioned)
54%Share of senior marketers in a repeat survey for Awin at the end of 2024 (sample size not stated; the 2023 wave had almost 700) running brand-to-brand partnerships in their affiliate programAwin, Jun 24, 2025Survey (vendor-commissioned)
52%Share of senior marketers in a repeat survey for Awin at the end of 2024 (sample size not stated; the 2023 wave had almost 700) naming personalised marketing communications as a top-five objective affiliates could support, the most-cited objectiveAwin, Jun 24, 2025Survey (vendor-commissioned)
+93%Year-on-year growth in brand-partnership sales on Awin’s platform, which Awin calls its fastest-growing partner type (no period or base stated)Awin, Jun 24, 2025Vendor claim

Publishers: Revenue, Concentration and Search Risk

Listed publishers report their affiliate income in their filings. People Inc. (IAC) grew digital performance marketing revenue, which includes its affiliate commerce commissions, to $291.9 million in 2025. BuzzFeed’s affiliate commerce revenue fell to $55.5 million, and Amazon alone paid 28% of BuzzFeed’s total revenue. BuzzFeed’s filing says Amazon accounts for the vast majority of its affiliate commerce revenue.

Search is the main risk publishers name. In the PMA’s 2025 publisher survey, 69% were concerned that Google’s algorithm changes and AI Overviews are reducing traffic and affiliate revenue. In IAB Australia’s 2026 survey, Google algorithm updates and the impact of AI on search were the top two publisher challenges. Google’s site reputation abuse policy, in effect from May 2024, also targets third-party coupon and partner sections hosted on publisher domains to exploit their ranking signals, though Google says appropriately marked affiliate links do not violate it.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
$291.9 millionPeople Inc. (IAC) digital performance marketing revenue in 2025 (before intersegment eliminations), up from $243.9 million in 2024; IAC says it primarily consists of affiliate commerce commissions, performance marketing services and affinity marketingIAC, Feb 20, 2026Official (company-reported)
21%Growth in People Inc.’s digital performance marketing revenue in 2025 ($46.6 million, net of intersegment eliminations), which IAC attributes mainly to higher affiliate commerce commissionsIAC, Feb 20, 2026Official (company-reported)
$55.5 millionBuzzFeed affiliate commerce revenue in 2025, down from $59.6 million in 2024; BuzzFeed cites smaller supplemental bonuses from affiliate partnersBuzzFeed, Mar 16, 2026Official (company-reported)
28%Share of BuzzFeed’s total 2025 revenue paid by Amazon, primarily for affiliate commerce transactionsBuzzFeed, Mar 16, 2026Official (company-reported)
$5.1 millionGrowth in The New York Times Company’s Wirecutter affiliate referral revenue in 2025 (the company does not disclose the total)New York Times, Feb 27, 2026Official (company-reported)
69%Share of affiliate publishers surveyed for the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 study concerned that Google’s algorithm changes and AI Overviews are reducing site traffic and affiliate revenuePMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataSurvey (industry body)
54%Share of affiliate publishers surveyed for the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 study confident or very confident in the future of their affiliate businessPMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataSurvey (industry body)
52%Share of affiliate publishers surveyed for the Performance Marketing Association’s 2025 study planning to experiment with new forms of promotionPMA, Jun 18, 2025 · 2024 dataSurvey (industry body)
66%Share of Australian affiliate publishers and partners surveyed by IAB Australia in 2026 (57 respondents) whose affiliate revenue increased over the past year; 72% increased the number of advertisers they work withIAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
45%Share of Australian affiliate publishers and partners surveyed by IAB Australia in 2026 (57 respondents) for whom affiliate marketing is 50% or more of online revenueIAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
38%Share of Australian affiliate publishers and partners surveyed by IAB Australia in 2026 (57 respondents) naming Google search algorithm updates as a main challenge, the top answer; 36% named the impact of AI on search and clicksIAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
May 5, 2024Date Google’s site reputation abuse spam policy took effect against third-party pages (such as partner or coupon sections) hosted to exploit a site’s ranking signals; a November 19, 2024 update applies it regardless of first-party involvement, and Google says appropriately marked affiliate links are not site reputation abuseGoogle Search Central, Mar 5, 2024Platform rule
$8,038 a monthAverage monthly income reported by 2,270 affiliate marketers (mostly website owners) in Authority Hacker’s 2023 survey, promoted to its own email list and social audience plus some paid social ads; an average from a self-selected sample, not a medianAuthority Hacker, Sep 14, 2023Survey (self-selected)

No representative survey of what individual affiliates earn was found. A widely quoted figure, $8,038 a month, is an average from a 2023 survey promoted mainly to one publisher’s own audience, and an average of this kind can be pulled up by a few high earners.

Tracking and Attribution Windows: The Rules

Attribution windows are set by each program and limited by browsers. Amazon credits a purchase that starts within 24 hours of the click, and still pays on items added to the cart in that session if the order is completed within 89 days. eBay uses 24 hours for Buy It Now purchases and gives auction wins up to 10 days.

Safari and Firefox limit cross-site tracking by default: Safari caps cookies set by page scripts at seven days, and one day after certain tracked navigations, while Firefox keeps a separate cookie jar for each site. Chrome did not follow. In July 2024 Google proposed a user choice instead of deprecating third-party cookies, in April 2025 it said Chrome would keep its existing cookie settings without a new prompt, and in October 2025 it announced it would retire most Privacy Sandbox technologies. Programs that rely on third-party cookies alone lose credit mainly on Safari and Firefox, not on Chrome.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
24 hoursAmazon Associates session: a purchase earns commission if it starts within 24 hours of the click (the session also ends at an order or a click on another Associate’s link)Amazon Associates, updated Apr 14, 2026Platform rule
89 daysAmazon Associates: items added to the cart during that 24-hour session still earn commission if the order is completed within 89 days of the clickAmazon Associates, updated Apr 14, 2026Platform rule
24 hourseBay Partner Network: a Buy It Now purchase must happen within 24 hours of the affiliate click; an auction bid placed within 24 hours counts if the auction is won within 10 dayseBay Partner Network, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
7 daysSafari (ITP 2.1): maximum lifetime of persistent cookies set by page scripts (document.cookie), from February 2019WebKit, Feb 21, 2019Platform rule
1 daySafari (ITP 2.2): lifetime of script-set cookies on a page reached from a domain classified as a tracker when the URL carries a query string or fragment (link decoration), from April 2019WebKit, Apr 24, 2019Platform rule
7 daysSafari (ITP 2.3): after a link-decorated navigation from a classified domain, a site’s non-cookie website data is deleted after seven days of Safari use without user interaction, from September 2019WebKit, Sep 23, 2019Platform rule
2020Year Safari began blocking all third-party cookies by default, the first mainstream browser to do so by WebKit’s account (March 24, 2020)WebKit, Mar 24, 2020Platform rule
2021Year Apple’s App Tracking Transparency arrived (iOS 14.5, April 26, 2021): apps must get a user’s permission to track them across other companies’ apps and websitesApple, Apr 26, 2021Platform rule
2022Year Firefox made Total Cookie Protection, a separate cookie jar for each website, the default for all desktop users worldwide (June 2022)Mozilla, Jun 14, 2022Platform rule
Jul 22, 2024Date Google proposed that, instead of deprecating third-party cookies in Chrome, it would introduce a new experience letting people make an informed choice across their browsingGoogle, Jul 22, 2024Platform rule
Apr 22, 2025Date Google said Chrome will keep its current third-party cookie choice in settings and will not roll out a new standalone promptGoogle, Apr 22, 2025Platform rule
Oct 17, 2025Date Google announced it would retire most Privacy Sandbox technologies, including the Attribution Reporting API, citing low adoptionGoogle, Oct 17, 2025Platform rule

Server-side and first-party tracking reduce the reliance on browser cookies, but no public dataset measures how much attributed revenue they recover. Treat vendor claims on that point as claims. Our analytics team sets up and audits conversion tracking across channels.

Creators and Video Commerce

Video platforms now run their own affiliate programs. YouTube says its Shopping product tags draw more than twice as many clicks as description links, and that its affiliate program will reach 35 countries by the end of 2026; its affiliate program Help page listed 14 eligible countries on October 21, 2026. YouTube says more than 1.3 million creators are in the program and that the GMV they drive grew 13x over two years, but it publishes no affiliate sales totals.

The largest independent measure of creator affiliate activity found for this page is academic. A 2026 study of 2 million YouTube videos found affiliate links in 7.35% of them, rising from 5.3% of videos uploaded in 2015–2018 to 8.5% in 2018–2024; among channels under 100,000 subscribers the rate nearly doubled, from 3.22% to 6.38%. For the wider creator market, see our creator economy statistics; IAB’s $37 billion projection for US creator ad spend in 2025 excludes affiliate-link revenue.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
More than 2xClicks from YouTube Shopping product tags compared with links in a video description, according to a YouTube study (method not published)YouTube, Sep 23, 2026Vendor claim
35 countriesCountries YouTube says its Shopping affiliate program will reach by the end of 2026 (announced September 23, 2026)YouTube, Sep 23, 2026Official (company-reported)
1.3 million+Creators in YouTube’s Shopping affiliate program, as stated by YouTube in September 2026YouTube, Sep 23, 2026Official (company-reported)
13xGrowth in gross merchandise volume (GMV) driven by YouTube Shopping affiliate creators over the two years to September 2026, according to YouTube (no base or total stated)YouTube, Sep 23, 2026Vendor claim
14 countriesCountries listed on YouTube’s affiliate program Help page as eligible for the Shopping affiliate program on October 21, 2026 (Argentina, Brazil, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, the Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, the US and Vietnam); channels must also be in the YouTube Partner ProgramYouTube Help, read Oct 21, 2026Platform rule
7.35%Share of YouTube videos containing affiliate links in a 2026 academic study of 2 million YouTube videos from nearly 540,000 creators, 2015–2024 (146,800 videos, 352,700 unique affiliate links)Sun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
8.5%Share of YouTube videos with affiliate links among those uploaded 2018–2024, up from 5.3% for 2015–2018, in a 2026 academic study of 2 million YouTube videos from nearly 540,000 creators, 2015–2024Sun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
6.38%Share of videos from channels under 100,000 subscribers that carried affiliate links, 2018–2024, nearly double the 3.22% of 2015–2018, in a 2026 academic study of 2 million YouTube videos from nearly 540,000 creators, 2015–2024Sun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
5.28Average number of unique affiliate links per YouTube video that carries them, 38% of all links in those descriptions, in a 2026 academic study of 2 million YouTube videos from nearly 540,000 creators, 2015–2024Sun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
$37 billionUS creator economy ad spend projected for 2025 (up 26% from $29.5 billion in 2024); IAB’s measure covers brand payments to creators and excludes affiliate-link revenueIAB, Nov 20, 2025Forecast

Creator partnerships sit between affiliate and paid social. Our social media team manages creator programs, and our content engine covers the content side.

Disclosure Rules and Compliance

US, EU and UK regulators all expect affiliate links to be disclosed as advertising. The FTC revised its Endorsement Guides in 2023 and says a “Paid link” label next to an affiliate link should be adequate. Its 2024 rule on fake reviews and testimonials lets it seek civil penalties against knowing violators, currently up to $53,088 per violation. In the UK, the ASA and CMA advise “Ad” or “#ad” and treat “affiliate” alone as inadequate, and since April 2025 the CMA can fine companies up to 10% of global turnover directly.

Compliance remains low. The European Commission’s 2024 sweep found that 97% of 576 influencers posted commercial content but only 20% systematically disclosed it. The ASA estimates that about 57% of UK influencer advertising on Instagram and TikTok was adequately disclosed in 2024. On YouTube, a 2026 study found that only 12.20% of videos with affiliate links clearly met FTC guidelines, while videos using YouTube Shopping’s built-in tools reached 61.9%.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
2023Year the FTC last revised its Endorsement Guides (June 29, 2023, 3–0 vote), adding a definition of “clear and conspicuous” and warning that a platform’s built-in disclosure tool might not be enoughFTC, Jun 29, 2023Regulation
“Paid link”FTC guidance: a label like this right next to an affiliate link should be an adequate disclosure; the FTC’s sample wording is “I get commissions for purchases made through links in this post”FTC, read Oct 21, 2026Regulation
$53,088Maximum FTC civil penalty per violation of an FTC rule (Section 5(m)(1)(A)) from January 17, 2025, up from $51,744; the FTC kept 2025 levels unchanged for 2026FTC, Feb 11, 2025Regulation
Aug 14, 2024Date the FTC finalised its rule banning fake reviews and testimonials (5–0 vote), which lets it seek civil penalties against knowing violatorsFTC, Aug 14, 2024Regulation
700+Companies sent an FTC Notice of Penalty Offenses on fake reviews and misleading endorsements in October 2021, including large advertisers, retailers and agenciesFTC, Oct 13, 2021Regulator finding
Required statementAmazon Associates must display “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases” (or a substantially similar statement) wherever they use Amazon program contentAmazon Associates, updated Oct 15, 2025Platform rule
97%Share of 576 influencers checked by the European Commission and consumer authorities of 22 EU countries, Norway and Iceland (2024 sweep) who published commercial contentEuropean Commission, Feb 14, 2024Regulator finding
20%Share of 576 influencers checked by the European Commission and consumer authorities of 22 EU countries, Norway and Iceland (2024 sweep) who systematically disclosed that content as advertisingEuropean Commission, Feb 14, 2024Regulator finding
38%Share of 576 influencers checked by the European Commission and consumer authorities of 22 EU countries, Norway and Iceland (2024 sweep) who did not use the platforms’ own disclosure labels, using words such as “collaboration” or “partnership” insteadEuropean Commission, Feb 14, 2024Regulator finding
358Influencers earmarked for further investigation by national authorities after the European Commission’s 2024 sweepEuropean Commission, Feb 14, 2024Regulator finding
About 57%Estimated share of UK influencer advertising on Instagram and TikTok adequately disclosed as advertising, 2024 (ASA estimate from a random sample of 212 UK influencer accounts; 509 accounts monitored in total)ASA, May 2025Regulator finding
35% → 49%Share of ads adequately disclosed by the 122 UK Instagram accounts the ASA also monitored in 2021, 2021 against 2024ASA, May 2025Regulator finding
3,566Complaints the UK ASA received about influencer advertising in 2024, 10% of all complaints (1,969 in 2019)ASA, May 2025Regulator finding
“Aff” is not enoughASA and CMA position: labels such as “affiliate” or “gifted” do not adequately disclose advertising (the ASA also treats a discount code alone as inadequate); both advise “Ad” or “#ad”ASA, May 2025Regulation
10%Maximum fine, as a share of global turnover, that the UK Competition and Markets Authority can impose directly for consumer-law breaches since April 2025CMA, Apr 7, 2025Regulation
About 10%Share of affiliate marketing content carrying any disclosure, in a 2018 academic study of over 500,000 YouTube videos and 2.1 million Pinterest pinsMathur et al., Sep 3, 2018 (revised Oct 6, 2018)Academic study
45.52%Share of 139,900 English-language YouTube videos with affiliate links (2015–2024), in a 2026 academic study that included any form of disclosureSun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
12.20%Share of 139,900 English-language YouTube videos with affiliate links (2015–2024), in a 2026 academic study whose disclosures clearly met FTC guidelines on both compensation and which links were affiliate linksSun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
69.19%Share of 139,900 English-language YouTube videos with affiliate links (2015–2024), in a 2026 academic study classed as non-compliant; 54.19% had no disclosure at allSun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study
61.9%Clear FTC compliance rate for YouTube videos using YouTube Shopping’s built-in affiliate tools, against 20.7% non-compliance, in the same 2026 studySun et al., Mar 4, 2026 (revised May 21, 2026)Academic study

Fraud, Browser Extensions and Incrementality

No published affiliate fraud or invalid-traffic rates with a stated method, and no public dataset of incrementality by partner type, were found for this page. Platform rules are tightening instead. Since June 2025, Chrome Web Store extensions may add or replace affiliate links only when the program is disclosed, the user takes an action and the link brings a direct benefit, such as a coupon actually found.

Surveys show where advertisers see value. In IAB Australia’s 2026 survey, 70% of advertisers rated reward and cashback partners highly for value, against 31% for browser extensions and 30% for coupon and deal sites. These are ratings, not incrementality measurements. Holdout tests on your own program remain the most direct way to know which partners add sales.

FigureWhat it measuresSource
Mar 11, 2025Date Google tightened its Chrome Web Store affiliate ads policy: extensions may add or replace affiliate links only with disclosure, a user action and a direct user benefitChrome for Developers, Mar 11, 2025Platform rule
Jun 10, 2025Date Google began enforcing the Chrome Web Store affiliate ads policy; violating extensions may be removedChrome for Developers, Mar 11, 2025Platform rule
70%Reward partners (cashback sites and loyalty programs): share of Australian advertisers and agencies rating the partner type 8 or more out of 10 for value, 2026 (IAB Australia survey, 66 respondents), the highest of any partner typeIAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
55%Content partners: share of Australian advertisers and agencies rating the partner type 8 or more out of 10 for value, 2026 (IAB Australia survey, 66 respondents); social and influencer partners 50%IAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
31%Browser extensions: share of Australian advertisers and agencies rating the partner type 8 or more out of 10 for value, 2026 (IAB Australia survey, 66 respondents)IAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
30%Coupon and deal sites: share of Australian advertisers and agencies rating the partner type 8 or more out of 10 for value, 2026 (IAB Australia survey, 66 respondents), the lowest of the partner types listedIAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)
35%AI shopping agents: share of Australian advertisers and agencies rating the partner type 8 or more out of 10 for value, 2026 (IAB Australia survey, 66 respondents); 26% could not rate themIAB Australia, Apr 21, 2026 · surveyed Mar–Apr 2026Survey (industry body)

Widely Quoted Figures, Checked

Several affiliate statistics circulate without a source, or with a source that says something different. Each one below is checked against the publisher’s own page.

Often quoted asWhat the source says
Global affiliate spend will reach $19.4 billion in 2026 (Forrester)No Forrester forecast of global affiliate spend is public. Forrester’s published affiliate forecast is a 2016 study for Rakuten Affiliate Network, headlined “Affiliate Marketing Industry to Grow to $6.8bn Over Next 5 Years”. The current US figures are the PMA’s $13.62 billion for 2024 (estimate) and eMarketer’s $13.20 billion for 2026 (forecast made in August 2024).
The affiliate industry is worth $17 billion, rising to $27.78 billion or $48 billion by 2027In the statistics roundups read for this page, $17 billion is credited to Authority Hacker or Statista without naming a study, $27.78 billion to a paid market report from Proficient Market Insights, and $48 billion to unnamed experts. None can be traced to a published method, so they are left out of this page.
81% of brands run an affiliate programThis is usually traced to a Forrester Consulting study of advertisers and publishers commissioned by Rakuten Affiliate Network in January 2016. It is a ten-year-old survey result, not a current measurement.
The median ecommerce affiliate commission is 8.4%No network was found publishing median commission rates by vertical. Published schedules differ by category: Amazon Associates pays 0% to 10% (4% for unlisted categories) and eBay Partner Network 1% to 4%.
Amazon’s affiliate cookie lasts only 24 hoursThe session lasts 24 hours, but Amazon still pays on items added to the cart during that session if the order is completed within 89 days of the click.
Chrome is phasing out third-party cookiesIn July 2024 Google proposed a user choice instead of deprecating third-party cookies; in April 2025 it said Chrome keeps its current cookie choice in settings with no new prompt; in October 2025 it announced it would retire most Privacy Sandbox technologies.
The median affiliate marketer earns $8,038 a yearAuthority Hacker’s 2023 survey of 2,270 affiliate marketers, drawn mainly from its own audience, reports an average of $8,038 a month, not a median per year.
Only 10% of affiliate content is disclosedThat is a 2018 academic finding for YouTube and Pinterest. A 2026 study of YouTube found that 45.52% of affiliate videos had some disclosure but only 12.20% clearly met FTC guidelines.
ShareASale holds 9% of affiliate network shareNo public dataset of network share was found. Awin has owned ShareASale since 2017 and began moving its users onto the Awin platform in mid-2025, with the ShareASale platform due to close by the end of 2025.

Quote the Source, the Method and the Year

Public measurement of affiliate marketing is thin. There is no audited global total, networks publish only their own scale, and most commission and conversion benchmarks in circulation have no source. What can be checked is narrower but more useful: a US spend estimate with a stated method, published commission schedules, browser and platform rules, regulators’ disclosure findings and the filings of listed publishers.

When you quote an affiliate figure, carry the source, the method and the year with it. “The PMA estimates US affiliate spend at $13.62 billion in 2024” can be checked, while an unsourced global figure cannot. For commission and attribution decisions, start from the program’s own published terms and your own holdout tests.

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from one of the sources below, grouped by who published them.

Industry bodies and research
Academic research
Affiliate programs and networks
  • Amazon Associates CentralAssociates Program Standard Commission Income Statementread Oct 21, 2026
  • Amazon Associates CentralAssociates Program Policies: Commission Income Statementupdated Apr 14, 2026
  • Amazon Associates CentralAssociates Program Operating Agreementupdated Oct 15, 2025
  • eBay Partner NetworkRate card (global rate card and PDF)read Oct 21, 2026
  • YouTube HelpYouTube Shopping affiliate program overview & eligibilityread Oct 21, 2026
  • AwinAbout us (Awin in numbers)read Oct 21, 2026
  • AwinClosing the ShareASale door, opening Awin’s opportunities; and “ShareASale Is Now Awin”Mar 10, 2025; read Oct 21, 2026
Forecasts and vendor surveys
  • eMarketer5 charts on affiliate marketing: Marketers face mixed prioritiesNov 20, 2024 · chart: EMARKETER Forecast, Aug 2024
  • AwinAwin x Forrester Deep Dive: Have Opinions of Affiliate Marketing Changed in the Last Year? (repeat survey of senior marketers, end of 2024)Jun 24, 2025
  • Authority HackerAffiliate Marketing in 2024: Survey of 2,270 Affiliate Marketers Reveals What’s Working (archived copy)Sep 14, 2023

Build an Affiliate Program on Measurable Terms

We help brands set commission structures, tracking and partner mixes against their own margins and data, not unsourced averages.

Affiliate program and partner audits
Conversion tracking and attribution setup
Disclosure and compliance reviews

Digital Applied newsletter

Deep dives on AI, marketing and development.

Practical guides and fresh insights by email. No recycled takes.

Related Articles

Continue exploring with these related guides