AI DevelopmentNew Release4 min readPublished September 23, 2026

Live September 23 · 2,000+ connectors · products · service partners · paid from a budget line that already exists

Claude Marketplace: Buying Agent Tools From Claude Spend

Anthropic's Claude Marketplace lets customers put a portion of committed Claude spend toward connectors, agent products and service partners. What to check.

DA
Digital Applied Team
Research and practical guidance
LaunchedSeptember 23, 2026
Built onMCP and Agent Skills

Anthropic launched Claude Marketplace on September 23, 2026. It is a single catalogue where teams find connectors, agent products and service partners that work with Claude, and where builders and partners reach Claude customers. The line that matters to a buyer is one sentence in the announcement: teams can use a portion of their committed Anthropic spend on marketplace purchases.

That sentence moves an agent purchase from a new budget request to a drawdown on money already approved. It is the same mechanism the cloud marketplaces have used for years, and it is why a marketplace listing is a procurement event, not a directory entry. The rest of this post is about what changes for the buyer and what to check before drawing down.

Everything here comes from Anthropic's announcement. The percentage of committed spend that can be applied is not stated, and we do not guess at it.

Key takeaways
  1. 01
    Three categories in one catalogue: connectors and plugins, Claude-powered products, and service partners.More than 2,000 connectors and plugins are listed at launch. Products named include CrowdStrike, Cursor, Harvey, Legora, Lovable and Snowflake. Services come from the Claude Partner Network.
  2. 02
    Customers can apply a portion of committed Anthropic spend to purchases. The share is not stated.Anthropic's words are "a portion of". Treat the mechanism as real and the size as something your account team confirms in writing.
  3. 03
    Listings are built on the Model Context Protocol and Agent Skills.A connector on the marketplace is an MCP server or a skill. The security questions that apply to any MCP server apply here, with a checkout button in front of them.
  4. 04
    Drawdown makes buying easier. It does not make the vendor Anthropic.Check who the contract is with, where data flows, and what the connector can reach before the budget line makes the decision for you.

01 — The launchWhat it is, in four lines

1
Connectors and plugins
More than 2,000 at launch

Integrations with tools such as Atlassian, Google, Microsoft, Notion and Salesforce, built by their vendors or by third parties on MCP and Agent Skills and submitted for listing.

Integrations
2
Claude-powered agents and products
Applied to list

Software built on Claude, sold as a product. Anthropic's launch names CrowdStrike, Cursor, Harvey, Legora, Lovable and Snowflake among them.

Software
3
Service partners
Claude Partner Network

Consultancies and integrators that appear in the marketplace by joining the partner network. Anthropic names Accenture, Boston Consulting Group and Deloitte.

Services
4
Committed-spend drawdown
A portion of committed spend

Customers with a committed Anthropic contract can put a portion of it toward marketplace purchases. The portion is not stated in the announcement.

Procurement

The announcement describes the marketplace as live on the day. For builders the route in is to create a connector or plugin with MCP and Agent Skills and submit it, to apply to list a Claude-powered product, or to join the partner network for a services listing. Our earlier post on agent marketplaces as distribution covers how these catalogues have worked at other vendors; the new element here is the money.

02 — The mechanismWhy committed spend changes procurement

A committed-spend contract is money a company has already agreed to pay a vendor over a period, usually in exchange for a discount. Once signed, it sits on the finance side as a line that will be spent. Letting a customer apply part of that line to third-party purchases changes three things at once.

First, the approval is already done. A team buying an agent product through the marketplace is not asking for new money; it is choosing how to use money the company has committed to Anthropic. The request that used to need a business case now needs a click and a check that the drawdown is within the allowed portion. Second, the contract path shortens. Purchases that would each have gone through vendor onboarding, security review and a separate invoice arrive through one relationship. Third, the incentive on the buying team flips. Unused commitment is a cost; a marketplace turns it into something the team can spend before it expires.

All three make it easier to buy. None makes the purchase safer, which is why the next section exists.

What the drawdown does not change

The marketplace catalogues a product; it does not become the party you contract with for it. Data-processing terms, uptime commitments, support and liability sit wherever the listing says they sit. Read that part before the budget line makes the choice.

03 — The checksWhat to check before drawing down

A marketplace listing built on MCP is an MCP server with a storefront. Every question we already ask of a connector applies. The routing below adds the ones that the money introduces.

You are buying a connector or plugin
Establish who the contract is with and where the server runs. A connector can be hosted by its vendor, by a third party or locally. Ask what it can reach once installed: which tools, which data, which write actions. Our MCP incident ledger lists what has gone wrong with connectors that were not checked.
Reach and host
You are buying a Claude-powered product
Run the same due diligence as for any AI vendor: what it claims, what it measured, on what data, and who verified it. The marketplace does not vet performance claims for you. Confirm the data-processing agreement is with the product vendor and that Claude's own terms are not assumed to cover it.
Vendor claims
You are using committed spend
Get the allowed portion in writing from your Anthropic account team, and get finance to confirm how a drawdown appears against the commitment. Decide in advance whether unused commitment should be spent on the marketplace at all, or whether that is a decision the budget owner makes case by case.
Portion in writing
You are deciding how long to commit
A product paid through a drawdown ends when the commitment ends unless the listing says otherwise. Check what happens to data, access and price when the contract renews, and whether the product can be bought directly if you leave the commitment.
Renewal terms

Two of our reference pages carry the detail. The MCP security incident ledger records what has gone wrong with connectors in production, and the vendor claim due-diligence checklist is the list to run on any product before the drawdown.

04 — The other sideWhat it means for service firms listed beside products

The third category is the unusual one. Consultancies do not usually sit in a software catalogue next to the software. Putting them there does two things for a buyer. It makes an implementation partner a line item in the same purchase as the product, which suits companies that want one decision rather than two. And it invites comparison between a services engagement and a product on the same page, which favours firms that can describe an outcome rather than a headcount.

For the service firms themselves, it sets the terms of entry: the partner network, not a direct listing. Anthropic names three large consultancies at launch. Whether smaller firms appear, and on what terms, is not stated in the announcement, and this post makes no claim about who will or will not be listed. What is clear is that the catalogue rewards firms whose work can be bought in units, which is a shift many agencies, including ours, are already making in how we package AI transformation work.

05 — ConclusionThe marketplace makes the purchase easy; the checks stay yours

What to do this week

Get the committed-spend portion in writing, run the connector and vendor checks before any drawdown, and decide who owns the spend decision

Claude Marketplace is a procurement change dressed as a directory. The catalogue is useful, the drawdown is the point, and the risk is that a budget line that already exists makes a decision that security and legal never saw. Put the checks in front of the button and the marketplace is a faster way to buy what you would have bought anyway.

Digital Applied

Buy agent tools on evidence, not on unused budget.

We run the connector, vendor and contract checks before a marketplace purchase, and we build the agent workflows that make the tools you buy earn their place.

Connector reviewVendor due diligenceAgent build
Your next project

A marketplace purchase you can defend

  • →Reach and data flows mapped
  • →Claims checked against evidence
  • →Drawdown terms in writing
Questions and answers

The questions we get about Claude Marketplace

A catalogue launched by Anthropic on September 23, 2026 with three categories: more than 2,000 connectors and plugins, Claude-powered agents and products, and service partners from the Claude Partner Network. Listings are built on the Model Context Protocol and Agent Skills.
Digital Applied newsletter

Deep dives on AI, marketing and development.

Practical guides and fresh insights by email. No recycled takes.

Related dispatches

Continue reading

AI Development

Claude Agent Skills Framework: Build Specialized AI Agents

Master Claude Skills across Claude.ai, Claude Code, and the API with SKILL.md structure, progressive disclosure, and deployment scopes.

October 10, 2025 · 8 minRead
AI Development

Claude Opus 5.5: Pricing, Benchmarks and Breaking Changes

Claude Opus 5.5 costs $4/$20 per million tokens, defaults to medium effort and breaks four Opus 5 integrations. What the 40% saving assumes.

September 22, 2026 · 10 minRead
AI Development

Claude Chat and Cowork Are Now One App: What Teams Should Do

Anthropic merged Claude chat and Cowork on September 16 and added Docs and Slides in beta. The rollout by plan, and the one approval setting to decide.

September 16, 2026 · 6 minRead
AI Development

Claude Managed Agents Update: Effort, Webhooks, 500 Skills

Claude Managed Agents added per-agent effort levels, deeper webhooks, session seeding, and thread event previews on July 22, with up to 500 skills per session.

July 23, 2026 · 12 minRead
AI Development

AI Agent Shopping: Who Is Responsible After the Agent Pays

Map approval, delivery, cancellation, returns and refunds after an AI-assisted purchase, with the Muse-specific Link protection limits and evidence.

September 8, 2026 · 6 minRead
AI Development

Who Owns Unfinished Work When an AI Agent Hands It Off?

Keep agent handoffs accountable with an explicit recipient, acceptance check and remaining-work record. Separate sending a task from accepting ownership.

September 5, 2026 · 4 minRead