DevelopmentFramework16 min readPublished August 7, 2026

At publication: announced, not shipped · 2.4T total parameters · license undisclosed

Qwen3.8 Open Weights: Check This Before Downloading

Alibaba has said it will publish weights for Qwen3.8-Max and a new Qwen3.8-27B during the week of 10 August 2026, on Hugging Face and ModelScope. That would be the first open-weight release at Max scale for the Qwen line. At the time of writing it is a dated commitment, not a download — and the checks below are what turn one into the other.

DA
Digital Applied Team
Senior strategists · Published August 7, 2026
PublishedAugust 7, 2026
Read time16 min
SourcesVendor + host pages · secondary analysis
Qwen3.8-Max total params
2.4T
95B active · vendor-stated
The sibling you could run
27B
companion open-weight release
Qwen3.8 repos on Hugging Face
0
at the time of writing
Promised, not published
Kimi K3 promise-to-ship
10d
Kimi K3 · Jul 17 to Jul 27, 2026

The Qwen3.8 open weights are the most-anticipated pending download in open-weight AI right now, and the single most important fact about them is that they are pending. Alibaba has said it will publish weights for Qwen3.8-Max and a new Qwen3.8-27B during the week of 10 August 2026, on Hugging Face and ModelScope. At the time of writing, no matching repository appears on the Qwen organisation page at Hugging Face.

That gap between announcement and artifact is where most bad decisions get made. Teams reserve GPU capacity, write deployment tickets, and quietly assume a permissive license, all before a single file exists. Then the license turns out to be undisclosed, the model turns out to need a rack rather than a workstation, and the quantised build everyone planned around does not appear for weeks.

This guide is a pre-download checklist, written to be reusable. Five checks — license text, hardware reality, quantisation timeline, provenance, and the data-use trade you make by staying on a hosted API — applied to Qwen3.8 as the worked example, and applicable unchanged to the next hyped open-weight promise after it. Everything about the Qwen3.8 drop below is treated as announced and pending, because that is what it is.

Key takeaways
  1. 01
    Nothing has shipped yet.Alibaba has promised weights for Qwen3.8-Max and a new Qwen3.8-27B during the week of 10 August 2026, on Hugging Face and ModelScope. At the time of writing no matching repository exists on the Qwen organisation page at Hugging Face. Treat every plan that depends on the files as conditional.
  2. 02
    The license is undisclosed, and precedent is not a promise.Qwen 3.5 and 3.6 shipped under Apache-2.0 — Qwen3.6-27B carries an Apache-2.0 LICENSE file on Hugging Face. That is a strong pattern and still not a commitment for Qwen3.8. Read the actual LICENSE file on the day it appears.
  3. 03
    Open weights and runnable weights are different artifacts.Qwen3.8-Max is vendor-stated at 2.4 trillion total parameters with 95 billion active. Mixture-of-Experts routing cuts the compute per token, not the memory floor: the full expert set still has to sit somewhere the accelerator can reach.
  4. 04
    The 27B is the release most readers can actually use.A 27B-class open-weight model sits in the same hardware bracket as other 2026 releases at that size — one high-end GPU or an Apple Silicon Max-class machine at quantised precision. It is the artifact worth planning around, not the headline model.
  5. 05
    Provenance is the check people skip.Official organisation repositories only. A re-upload is not a release: it carries no license guarantee, no assurance the tensors are unmodified, and no guarantee it tracks later fixes. Bookmark the org page, not a mirror.

01The PromiseA dated commitment is not a download.

The sequence matters, because each step narrowed the uncertainty without removing it. Qwen3.8-Max first surfaced as a closed preview at WAIC in Shanghai on 19 July 2026 — vendor-stated at 2.4 trillion parameters, with no benchmarks, no model card, no license, and no entry on any weight host. It was reachable only through Alibaba’s own hosted surfaces. We covered that stage in our analysis of the 2.4T preview announcement.

On 2 and 3 August the model went to full release on Alibaba’s hosted platforms, this time with a published benchmark table and a disclosed active-parameter count of 95 billion, a 1M-token context window, and multimodal input. Our Qwen3.8-Max full-release breakdown owns that launch story and the benchmark reading; this piece does not repeat it.

The open-weight promise came in the same 2 August follow-up: weights for both Qwen3.8-Max and a new Qwen3.8-27B, on Hugging Face and ModelScope, during the week of 10 August. That is roughly eight days from the announcement to the start of the stated window, and it is the first time Alibaba attached a specific week to the release — earlier framing at the July debut carried no date at all. If it lands, it would be the first open-weight release at Max-class scale for the Qwen line.

Headline artifact
Qwen3.8-Max
2.4T total · 95B active · 1M context

Vendor-stated figures from the full-release announcement. Live on Alibaba’s hosted surfaces; weights promised for the week of 10 August 2026. Would be the first Qwen Max-class model released with open weights. Multi-GPU serving territory even after it ships.

Promised · not yet published
Companion artifact
Qwen3.8-27B
27B class · specs not published

Announced alongside Max in the same follow-up, with no other specifications published at the time of writing — no benchmark table, no context figure, no license. For most readers this is the release that matters, because it is the one that fits ordinary hardware.

Announced · specs pending
Status at the time of writing
Everything about the Qwen3.8 open-weight drop is announced and pending. A check of the official Qwen organisation page on Hugging Face returns no repository named Qwen3.8, Qwen3.8-Max, or Qwen3.8-27B; the most recent listings there are unrelated speech models. The license text has not been disclosed. Any guide, tracker, or changelog claiming the weights are downloadable is running ahead of the evidence.
Update · 12 August 2026
The weights landed on 8 August 2026, one day after this guide published. Two repositories went live on the official Qwen organisation: Qwen/Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B and an FP8 sibling, both public and ungated, at 224 files and roughly 4.89 TB. The licence question this checklist told you to settle before downloading now has an answer, and it is not the permissive one people assumed: the repository declares a bespoke qwen3.8-max licence rather than Apache 2.0, so the terms need reading before any commercial deployment. The smaller Qwen3.8-27B checkpoint is still missing. Every check below still applies — the licence check simply has a result now.

There is also a circulating per-million-token price for the hosted Qwen3.8-Max API that traces back to a single source and has not been reconciled against Alibaba’s own published pricing surface. We are not printing it. A number that only exists downstream of one secondary write-up is a rumour with a decimal point, and pricing is exactly the kind of figure that gets copied forward for months once it enters circulation.

Open weights and runnable weights are not the same artifact — and this release ships both problems at once.— Our reading of the Qwen3.8 open-weight announcement

02Check 01Read the license file, not the launch post.

The license is the check that decides whether the download is useful to you at all, and it is the one most commonly assumed rather than read. For Qwen3.8 the honest status is short: not disclosed. The announcement committed to publishing weights; it did not name the terms they would carry.

The precedent is genuinely encouraging. Qwen’s smaller open lines have shipped permissively — Qwen3.6-27B, released in April 2026, carries an Apache-2.0 LICENSE file in its Hugging Face repository. Qwen 3.5 followed the same pattern. If you had to bet, you would bet on permissive. But precedent describes what a vendor did before, and a license is a document that either exists in the repository or does not. Two things are worth holding separately here: the likelihood is high, and the confirmation is zero.

What to actually check on day one

  • The LICENSE file at the repository root, not the license tag in the model-card front matter. The tag is metadata that a human typed; the file is the terms.
  • Whether the two artifacts share terms. Max and 27B are separate repositories and there is no rule that a vendor must license them identically. A flagship released open for the first time is exactly where a use-based restriction or a commercial-threshold clause would appear if one were going to.
  • Any addendum or acceptable-use policy referenced from the license but living in a separate file.
  • Redistribution and derivative terms if you intend to fine-tune and ship the result, or to serve the model to customers. Self-hosting for internal use and redistributing a tuned variant are different permissions.

None of that takes more than ten minutes on the day the repository appears. The failure mode is not that the check is hard; it is that it happens after the deployment ticket is already written.

03Check 02The open weights you cannot run problem.

Most coverage treats “open weights” as a synonym for “you can use this”. At Max scale it is not. Qwen3.8-Max is vendor-stated at 2.4 trillion total parameters with 95 billion active per token, and the second number is the one people misread.

Mixture-of-Experts routing sends each token through a subset of the expert set, so the arithmetic per token behaves like a much smaller model. The memory footprint does not. Every expert has to be reachable, because the router can select any of them for the next token — which means the full weight set lives in accelerator memory across several GPUs, or in fast host memory with expert offload and a throughput penalty for the traffic that offload creates. Active parameters set the compute per token. Total parameters set the floor on what you have to own.

What has to be resident vs what runs per token

Vendor-stated parameter counts; percentages are our own calculation against the 2.4T total. Qwen3.8-27B specifications beyond the parameter class were not published at the time of writing.
Qwen3.8-Max total weights2.4T parameters · must all be reachable at inference
2.4T
Qwen3.8-Max active per token95B parameters · roughly 4% of the total weight set
95B
Qwen3.8-27B total weights27B parameters · roughly 1% of the Max weight set
27B

The ratio is the point. Roughly twenty-five times more parameters have to be resident than are active on any given token. That is the standard Mixture-of-Experts serving constraint, and it applies to every trillion-scale MoE released this year, not just this one.

For a sense of scale, a third-party estimate puts a 2.4-trillion- parameter weight set at roughly 1.2TB at four-bit quantisation before any serving overhead. The arithmetic is simple enough to check — four bits is half a byte per parameter — but treat the figure as illustrative rather than a specification. It is a floor for the weights alone, before the key-value cache that a 1M-token context implies, before activation memory, and before the headroom any real batch size needs.

Be sceptical of specific GPU counts circulating before release. No deployment guide for Qwen3.8 exists yet, because the model does not exist yet as a downloadable artifact. Guides written for the prior-generation Qwen3.7-Max describe a different, closed model and are directional at best. If you see a confident “runs on N × H200” claim this week, it is extrapolation wearing a number.

Sets the memory floor
Total parameters
2.4T

Vendor-stated for Qwen3.8-Max. Every expert must be reachable by the router, so the whole set has to live in GPU memory across a multi-GPU deployment or in fast host memory with offload. This is the number that decides whether you can serve the model at all.

Multi-GPU territory
Sets compute, not memory
Active per token
95B

Vendor-stated. Roughly 4% of the total set is engaged per token, which is why MoE models are cheaper to run per token than a dense model of the same total size. It is not a statement about how much hardware you need to own.

~25x smaller than total
The one you can plan around
The companion release
27B

A 27B-class open-weight model sits in the bracket that a single high-end GPU or an Apple Silicon Max-class machine handles at quantised precision. No Qwen3.8-27B specifications were published at the time of writing, so treat the class as the guide, not the model card.

Single-machine class

If you are sizing hardware for a local deployment on the assumption that something in this family will run on it, our price-bracket guide to local AI hardware maps the realistic tiers. The honest summary for this release: the 27B belongs in that guide, and the Max does not.

04Check 03Quantised builds arrive after the runtimes do.

The second most common planning error, after assuming the license, is assuming that the quantised build you intend to run will exist on release day. It usually does not, and the reason is structural rather than a matter of community enthusiasm.

Quantisation is downstream of runtime support. A quantiser has to know how to walk the architecture before it can produce a working build, and inference runtimes have to implement the architecture before they can load one. For a familiar architecture that support already exists and the lag is short. For a novel or newly-scaled Mixture-of-Experts layout — which a first-of-its-kind Max-class open release could well be — the runtime work is the gate, and it is measured in the time it takes maintainers to read a reference implementation and ship a release, not in hours.

Phase 01
Official weights land
repository appears on the host

Full-precision or vendor-quantised tensors, a model card, a license file, and — if the vendor follows its own pattern — a reference inference implementation. This is the only phase with a stated date attached, and even that date is a window rather than a day.

The only dated phase
Phase 02
Runtimes add support
serving stack catches up

Inference engines and local runtimes implement the architecture and ship it in a tagged release. Nothing downstream can move until this does. Plan for this to be the long pole on any architecture that is genuinely new rather than an incremental revision.

The actual gate
Phase 03
Community builds appear
quantised variants, then tooling

Quantised formats for local inference, then the fine-tuning recipes, adapters, and evaluation harnesses that make the model usable in practice. Quality varies early. The first build that loads is rarely the build you want in production.

Verify before you standardise

The practical instruction is to write the deployment plan with the phases separated. “Weights ship next week” is a claim about phase one only. If your rollout depends on a four-bit build running inside a specific local runtime, your real dependency is phase three, and nobody has committed to a date for that. Teams that state the dependency explicitly stop treating a vendor’s release date as their own.

05Check 04Official org repositories only — re-uploads are not releases.

When a release is anticipated, mirrors appear before the original. Some are well-intentioned re-uploads of a leak, some are optimistically-named placeholders, and some are neither. All of them share the same defect: they are not the release. A mirror carries no license guarantee, no assurance the tensors are unmodified, and no mechanism to track the corrections that vendors routinely push in the first week after a launch.

The rule is simple and worth stating flatly: download from the official organisation page on Hugging Face or ModelScope, or do not download. For this release that means the Qwen organisation on Hugging Face or the Qwen organisation on ModelScope, and nothing else. Bookmark the organisation page rather than a model URL — the organisation page is where a real release becomes visible, and it is also where the absence of a release stays visible.

Three signals that separate a release from a look-alike

  • The repository sits under the vendor’s verified organisation, not under an individual account with a similar name. Namespace lookalikes are the cheapest attack in the ecosystem and they work because people copy links from social posts.
  • A model card and a license file exist. A repository with weights and no card is either a mirror or an accident. Vendors that plan a release write the card first.
  • The vendor’s own announcement channel points at it. A release the vendor has not linked to from its own blog or account is a claim someone else is making on the vendor’s behalf.
Why this check is not paranoia
Fabricated release entries are a live problem, not a hypothetical one. In the same week as this announcement, a third-party tracker published a dated changelog entry for an Alibaba video model that the vendor’s own live changelog did not contain. The lesson generalises: a claim about a release is not a release, and the cheapest way to be wrong about a pending drop is to trust an aggregator over the organisation page.

06Check 05What the hosted API costs you that weights do not.

Until the weights land, the only way to use Qwen3.8-Max is Alibaba’s hosted surfaces, and that is the trade self-hosting exists to eliminate. The general shape holds for every hosted model: your prompts, your retrieved context, and whatever your customers typed into the box all traverse a vendor’s systems under that vendor’s terms. Self-hosting removes the question entirely, which is usually the real reason a regulated team wants weights at all.

We are not characterising Alibaba’s specific data-retention or training-use language here, because we have not verified the current wording directly. That is itself part of the check: read the terms attached to the exact surface you are calling, on the vendor’s own terms page, on the day you commit — not a summary of them, and not a comparison table someone assembled last quarter. Terms differ between a consumer chat product, a prepaid token plan, and an enterprise contract on the same underlying model.

At least one major vendor now ships a two-tier price list where the cheaper tier states that prompts may be used to improve its products, which we unpack in our look at contributor-tier pricing economics. Explicit is an improvement. It also means the question “what am I paying with” now has an answer you can read before you sign rather than after.

Client or regulated data
Wait for weights, or use an already-open model

If the blocker is that data cannot leave your boundary, a pending release does not help you this week. Either run an open model that has actually shipped, or keep the workload off the model entirely until the license and the artifact both exist and you have read them.

Do not build on a promise
Local experimentation
Plan for the 27B, not the Max

The 27B is the artifact that fits a workstation. Size your hardware for that class now, keep the plan conditional on the release actually appearing, and do not reserve capacity against a model whose specifications have not been published.

Prepare, do not commit
Production serving at scale
Price the hosted API against self-hosting honestly

Multi-GPU serving for a 2.4T MoE is a capital and operations line item, not a download. For most teams the hosted API remains the cheaper path even after weights exist; open weights buy you sovereignty and portability, not automatically a lower bill.

Model both, then decide
Vendor risk management
Treat the promise as a second source, not a plan

An open-weight release for a model you already use hosted is genuine insurance: it means a pricing change or a deprecation is survivable. That value is real and it only arrives once the files do. Book it when it lands, not when it is announced.

Insurance, once it exists

07The MethodThe whole checklist in one table.

Below is the checklist as a working document, grouped by when each check becomes answerable. The first group can be settled the moment a repository appears. The second depends on your own hardware and on the wider ecosystem rather than on the vendor. The third is about whether the release changes your position at all. Status entries describe the state at the time of writing and are the part that ages fastest.

An eight-row pre-download checklist for the pending Qwen3.8 open-weight release, grouped into checks answerable when the repository appears, checks determined by your own hardware and the wider ecosystem, and checks about whether the release changes your position, with the status of each at the time of writing and why it matters.
CheckWhat to look atStatus at the time of writingWhy it matters
Answerable the moment a repository appears
License textThe LICENSE file at the repository root, plus any separate acceptable-use addendum it referencesNot disclosed. Qwen3.6-27B carries Apache-2.0; that is precedent for the line, not a commitment for this releaseDecides whether commercial use, redistribution, and fine-tuned derivatives are permitted at all
ProvenanceThe official Qwen organisation page on Hugging Face or ModelScope, linked from the vendor’s own announcementNo Qwen3.8, Qwen3.8-Max, or Qwen3.8-27B repository visible on the Hugging Face organisation pageA re-upload carries no license guarantee and no assurance the tensors are unmodified
Artifact scopeWhich files actually ship: tensors, tokeniser, config, and whether a reference inference implementation is includedUnknown. Two artifacts are promised — Max and a new 27B — with no published specifications for the 27BWeights without a reference implementation slow every downstream runtime by days or weeks
Determined by your hardware and the wider ecosystem
Memory floorTotal parameters, not active parameters, plus key-value cache at your intended context lengthMax is vendor-stated at 2.4T total and 95B active — roughly 25x more resident than active per tokenMixture-of-Experts routing lowers compute per token; it does not lower how much you have to own
Runtime supportWhether your serving stack has shipped a tagged release that loads the architectureNot applicable yet. No published deployment guidance exists for a model that has not been releasedThis is the gate on everything downstream, including every community quantisation
Quantisation availabilityWhether a build exists in the format your runtime needs, and whether anyone has evaluated itNone, necessarily. Community builds follow runtime support, which follows the releasePlans that assume a launch-day four-bit build routinely slip by weeks
Whether the release changes your position at all
Data-use tradeThe terms attached to the exact hosted surface you call today, read on the vendor’s own terms pageHosted access is the only path to Qwen3.8-Max at the time of writing; we have not verified the current clause wordingRemoving that trade is usually the actual reason a team wants weights rather than an API key
Base rate on the promiseWhat this vendor has done with prior flagship models, and what comparable vendors did after a dated commitmentNo prior Qwen flagship has been released open; none of them carried a dated open-weight promise eitherCalibrates how much of your plan should depend on the window being met

Used together the checks compose into a single question you can answer in an afternoon: is there a file, under the right name, with terms I can live with, that my stack can load, on hardware I already have. Every “no” in that chain is a reason to keep the plan conditional, and the chain is the same for the next release that gets announced this way.

08Base RatesCalibrated scepticism, not cynicism.

How much should you discount a dated open-weight promise? Two reference points bracket the answer, and they point in opposite directions.

The discouraging one is Alibaba’s own flagship history. Qwen3-Max- Preview in September 2025, Qwen3.6-Max-Preview in April 2026, and Qwen3.7-Max in May 2026 all launched hosted-only, and none of them has since been released with open weights. That is zero out of three — with an important qualification that cuts the other way: none of those three ever carried an open-weight promise that was later withdrawn. Alibaba simply kept its largest models closed while its smaller lines stayed open. Qwen3.8 is the first flagship to break the pattern by committing, which makes the base rate a description of an old policy rather than a prediction about a new one. We traced that closed-flagship pattern and its reversal in our piece on Alibaba’s closed-flagship pivot.

The encouraging one is the nearest comparable. Moonshot AI’s Kimi K3 launched on 17 July 2026 at 2.8 trillion parameters with an open-weight commitment attached, and the weights shipped on 27 July — a ten-day window from promise to publication, at comparable scale, in the same market, in the same month. We covered what actually shipped with K3 and the license restrictions attached, which is also a reminder that “the weights arrived” and “the terms were what you hoped” are separate outcomes.

Prior Qwen flagships released open
The old base rate
0/3

Qwen3-Max-Preview (September 2025), Qwen3.6-Max-Preview (April 2026) and Qwen3.7-Max (May 2026) all stayed hosted-only. None of them promised weights and then failed to deliver — they simply never promised. The base rate describes a policy Qwen3.8 is explicitly breaking.

Policy, not broken promises
Nearest comparable
Kimi K3, promise to ship
10days

Launched 17 July 2026 at 2.8T parameters with an open-weight commitment; weights published 27 July 2026. Trillion-scale open releases with a date attached can and do land quickly — one data point, in the same market, in the same month.

17 Jul to 27 Jul 2026
Qwen3.8 pending window
Announcement to window open
8days

The commitment was made on 2 August for the week beginning 10 August — the only dated open-weight window Alibaba has set for a flagship. A narrow window is easier to judge than an open-ended one, which is itself useful.

2 Aug to week of 10 Aug

Reading those together, the calibrated position is neither “it will ship on Monday” nor “vendors never deliver”. It is that a dated commitment from a vendor with a strong open-weight track record in its smaller lines is meaningfully more credible than an undated one, that the flagship tier is genuinely new territory for this vendor, and that the cost of being wrong is asymmetric. Planning as though the weights will arrive costs you a slipped quarter if they do not; planning as though they will not costs you a few days of catch-up if they do.

The watch list

  • Week of 10 August 2026 — the stated window. Check the Qwen organisation pages on Hugging Face and ModelScope directly. A repository with a model card and a LICENSE file is the event; a post announcing one is not.
  • Day one, if it lands — read the license before the benchmarks. Whether Max and the 27B share terms is the single most consequential detail and the one least likely to be in anyone’s headline.
  • Days two to fourteen — watch runtime support, not downloads. The count of community quantisations tells you less than whether a serving stack you use has tagged a release that loads the architecture.
  • If the window passes with nothing — pending, not withdrawn. A missed window is weak evidence, not a cancellation. Re-check rather than re-narrate, and let the organisation page be the source rather than the commentary about it.

The larger pattern worth watching runs past this one release. Through the first half of 2026 the open-weight frontier moved from “smaller models released openly, largest models kept closed” towards genuine flagship-scale openness, first from labs whose entire positioning depended on it and now, tentatively, from a vendor whose flagship policy had been the opposite — a shift we mapped in our H1 2026 open-weight retrospective. If Qwen3.8 lands as promised, the interesting consequence is not that one more model becomes downloadable. It is that keeping a flagship closed stops being the default and starts being a choice that needs defending, which changes the negotiating position of every buyer who currently has none.

Our expectation for the rest of 2026 is that the flagship-scale open releases keep coming and that the constraint quietly migrates from licensing to logistics. When the largest models are downloadable but only servable by organisations with multi-GPU capacity, “open” starts describing a legal status rather than an accessible one. The companion releases — the 27B here, the mid-size siblings elsewhere — are where the practical story lives, and they deserve more attention than the headline number they ship alongside. If you are working out which of those actually belongs in your stack, that comparative evaluation is exactly where our AI transformation engagements start.

09ConclusionCheck the file, not the headline.

Pre-download discipline, August 2026

A commitment with a date attached is still not a download.

Qwen3.8 may well become the most significant open-weight release of the quarter. A Max-class model at 2.4 trillion parameters, published openly for the first time by a vendor that had kept its flagships closed, would be a genuine shift rather than an incremental one. None of that is true yet. At the time of writing the weights are promised, the license is undisclosed, and the Hugging Face organisation page is empty of any Qwen3.8 repository.

The five checks in this guide are deliberately boring: read the license file rather than the launch post, size against total parameters rather than active ones, treat quantised builds as downstream of runtime support, download only from the official organisation, and read the terms of whatever hosted surface you are using in the meantime. Boring checks are the ones that survive contact with a hype cycle, and each of them takes minutes when done in the right order and weeks when done in the wrong one.

Apply them to this release next week, then keep them. There will be another 2.4-trillion-parameter announcement, another confident GPU count that nobody could have measured, and another tracker publishing a changelog entry the vendor never wrote. The checklist does not care which model it is pointed at, which is the entire reason to have one.

Decide open-weight vs hosted on evidence

The difference between an announced model and a usable one is a checklist you can run in an afternoon.

Our team helps businesses evaluate open-weight and hosted models against each other on their own workloads — license posture, serving cost, hardware reality, and the migration path between them.

Free consultationExpert guidanceTailored solutions
What we work on

Open-weight model engagements

  • License and compliance review before deployment
  • Serving-cost modelling: self-hosted vs hosted API
  • Hardware sizing for local and on-prem inference
  • Second-source planning against vendor pricing risk
  • Evaluation harnesses on your own prompts and data
FAQ · Qwen3.8 open weights

The questions we get every week.

No. Alibaba has said it will publish weights for Qwen3.8-Max and a new Qwen3.8-27B during the week of 10 August 2026, on Hugging Face and ModelScope. At the time of writing, a check of the official Qwen organisation page on Hugging Face returns no repository named Qwen3.8, Qwen3.8-Max, or Qwen3.8-27B — the most recent listings there are unrelated speech models. Qwen3.8-Max itself is live, but only through Alibaba’s hosted surfaces, which is a different thing from having the weights. Treat any guide, tracker, or download link claiming otherwise as running ahead of the evidence, and verify against the organisation page directly rather than against commentary about it.
Digital Applied newsletter

Deep dives on AI, marketing and development.

Practical guides and fresh insights by email. No recycled takes.