In 22 days three of the largest AI vendors each shipped something aimed at the same person. OpenAI's ChatGPT Dots, launched September 29, 2026, are always-on agents with their own cloud computer. Google added a small business hub to the Gemini app on October 20, with brand styles, finance help and connected apps from Google Ads to Xero. Anthropic opened a research preview of Claude Duet on October 21 and wrote that it built Duet "for professionals and small business owners with more on their plates than they can track". If you run a small company and are deciding which one to pay for and connect to your books, your inbox and your store, this is the comparison. We read only the vendors' own pages, on October 21, 2026, and we do not name a winner.
One framing first. Duet and Dots are agents: they hold a thread with you, work while you are away and act in your apps with your approval. Gemini's hub is a set of skills and connections inside a chat app, and Google's pages describe no background agent, no general approval rules and no payments for it. So the honest comparison is not three versions of one thing. It is two agents with different prices and borders, and one hub that is free to try and does a narrower job well. Each product's own launch is covered in our Claude Duet explainer, our Gemini small business hub guide and our ChatGPT Dots post.
- 01The cheapest agent is Duet at $20 a month, if you are in the US and get in.Anthropic includes Duet in Pro ($20 monthly, $17 on an annual plan) and Max ($100 or $200) at no extra cost during the preview, by waitlist, US only. Dots need ChatGPT Pro from $100 a month or a Business Premium seat at $100 to $125, and on Pro are not offered in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK; Business Premium covers all supported ChatGPT regions.
- 02Gemini's hub names no plan, no price and no agent behaviour.Google says the hub is rolling out globally to all Gemini app users. Its pages name no plan requirement, no usage limit, no approval rules beyond confirmations in its Dropbox app, and no payments. Treat it as a free place to start and a marketing and analysis tool, not an always-on agent.
- 03Duet's pages name the most small-business apps and the strictest rules.Anthropic names QuickBooks, Stripe, Gusto, Shopify, Docusign, HubSpot, Canva and LinkedIn, and says Duet waits for approval before it sends, pays, signs or deletes, and will not trade securities or move money between accounts even if asked.
- 04Dots give you the most control over how much to ask, and cost the most.OpenAI's dots let you set four behaviours per type of action, from act without asking to hand off to you, and conversations with a dot do not count toward ChatGPT usage limits. OpenAI's dots pages name no accounting, payroll or store app.
- 05Only Gemini's own pages support Google Ads.A Google Ads connected app and a Business Profile connection exist in Gemini, and both need a personal Google Account with activity saving on. Neither Duet nor Dots names an ad platform on its pages. Meta's Muse, for comparison, connects Meta ad accounts.
01 — At a GlanceTwo agents and a hub, side by side.
The table holds the facts a small business owner asks first. Every cell is from the vendor's own page read on October 21, 2026, and "not stated" means the vendor's pages do not say. Quoted phrases are the vendor's words. The sections after it take each job in turn.
| Attribute | Claude Duet | Gemini business hub | ChatGPT Dots |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Research preview, Oct 21, 2026 | Announced Oct 20, 2026, rolling out "in the coming days" | Launched Sep 29, 2026, rolling out gradually |
| Plan that includes it | Pro or Max; not Team or Enterprise yet | None stated; "all Gemini app users" | Pro, Business Premium, Enterprise (beta, off by default) |
| Lowest qualifying price | $20 a month ($17 annual) | Not stated; Gemini app is free with a Google Account | $100 a month (Pro 100) or $100–125 a seat (Business Premium) |
| Where | US only, by waitlist | "Globally"; EEA and UK not addressed on the post | Pro: outside EEA, Switzerland and UK, over 18; Business: supported regions |
| Model | Claude Opus 5.5, no choice | Not stated for the hub; Nano Banana 2.1 for images | GPT-6 Astra |
| Connectors claimed | "Over 6,000" in the Claude Marketplace | No count; Google apps plus Adobe, Canva, Dropbox, Shopify, Wix, Zoho, Xero named | "Over 4,000 apps" through plugins |
| Works while you are away | Yes; its own virtual machine and browser, checks "every few hours" | Not stated; no background agent described | Yes; its own cloud computer, "24/7", scheduled tasks |
| Asks before acting | Always, before sending, paying, signing or deleting | Not stated for the hub; Google's Dropbox help says deletes, shares and bulk actions must be confirmed | Configurable per action type, four behaviours |
| Pays for things | Yes, via Link by Stripe and Shop Pay; US payment method; no recurring | Not stated | Yes, with cards saved on a merchant site, with approval |
| Counts against usage limits | Yes, including background checks | Not stated | Dot conversations do not; Codex and Work tasks do |
| Surfaces | Own app on iOS, Android and claude.ai | Gemini app; Business Profile web only; Ads web and mobile | ChatGPT desktop, web, mobile; Slack and Teams; not mobile web |
02 — PriceWhat a small business actually pays.
None of the three charges for the assistant itself. Each is bundled into a plan, so the real question is the cheapest plan that qualifies. Anthropic's pricing page lists Pro at $17 a month on an annual plan ($200 billed up front) or $20 monthly, and Max from $100; its help centre says Duet is included in Pro and Max at no extra cost during the preview, and that mobile pricing may differ. OpenAI's Pro tiers are $100, $200 and $500 a month and the pricing page shows Dots as included from the $100 tier; a Business Premium seat is $100 a month billed annually or $125 monthly, and Business plans start at two users. OpenAI's pages do not say whether the three Pro tiers get different dot allowances. Google's October 20 post names no plan for the hub at all. For context only, Google's US plans page lists Free at $0, AI Plus at $4.99, AI Pro at $19.99 and AI Ultra at $99.99 or $199.99; none of those is tied to the hub on any Google page we read.
The failure case is reading the headline price as the comparison. A solo owner in the US can try Duet for $20. The same owner cannot get a dot for less than $100: Pro starts there, and Business plans start at two users, and OpenAI's pages do not say whether one Premium seat and one Standard seat count. Our ChatGPT plans comparison and Google AI plans guide have the full tier tables.
- Claude DuetPro, monthly · $17 on annual · Max from $100
- $20 / moIncluded at no extra cost in the preview
- ChatGPT Dots, individualPro 100 · Pro 200 $200 · Pro 500 $500
- $100 / moFirst dot included; more dots "in the future"
- ChatGPT Dots, teamBusiness Premium seat · plans start at 2 users
- $100–125 / seatAnnual $100 · monthly $125
- Gemini business hubNo plan named on Google's post or help pages
- Not statedGemini app free; AI Pro $19.99 for context only
03 — AvailabilityWhere you can get it, and the borders that decide for you.
For many readers geography settles the choice before features do. Anthropic's help centre states that Duet is available in the US only during the research preview, that access is by waitlist with invitations going out in waves, and that Link payments need a US payment method. OpenAI's help centre says dots are rolling out to Pro users in markets excluding the European Economic Area, Switzerland and the UK, to users over 18, while Business Premium is available across supported ChatGPT regions. Google says the hub is beginning to roll out globally to all Gemini app users in the coming days and names no exclusion, though its June 2026 Business Profile rollout had excluded the EEA and UK and the current help page says that feature is available wherever the Gemini web app is. Treat EEA and UK availability of the hub as unconfirmed until it appears in your app. Google's connected-apps table also lists the hub's third-party apps as English-only, with Shopify and Dropbox for US users only and the Zoho apps for India only.
04 — Inbox and CalendarJob 1: the morning triage.
This is the job the two agents were built around. Anthropic's post describes a morning brief across connected apps and checks of your accounts every few hours, with the reason stated plainly: checking nonstop would use up your plan's limits much faster. Its product FAQ says Duet can flag what needs you in your inbox and calendar and draft replies for you to approve, and Gmail, Google Calendar and Slack are named connectors; Microsoft 365 is not available yet. Dots do the same through scheduled checks, with OpenAI's own example being a dot that reviews your calendar each morning, a connected personal email account, and messaging in Slack and Teams. Gemini's hub post does not claim triage; Google's general connected apps help mentions summarising Gmail and creating calendar events, but nothing proactive.
The example from Anthropic's post is a real-estate broker whose Duet flagged a showing booked on the wrong day. The failure case is Anthropic's own: it says Duet checks at set intervals, so something urgent can arrive between checks, and that it may still misread a thread or miscalibrate what is urgent. An owner who stops reading their own inbox because an agent does is trusting a product both vendors call fallible: Anthropic calls Duet a research preview, and OpenAI says dots can still make mistakes.
05 — BookkeepingJob 2: books, invoices and payroll.
Here the three diverge most. Anthropic's post names actions: check Intuit QuickBooks or Stripe for unpaid invoices and draft reminders, work with Gusto payroll, and, in its restaurant owner's account, work through invoices store by store. Google's post names Xero and Zoho as connected apps (Google's connected-apps table describes the Xero app as cash-flow and unpaid-invoice tracking, and lists the Zoho apps as CRM, mail, desk and project tools for India only) and says Gemini can turn messy spreadsheets, receipts and purchase records into financial graphics and interactive models; that is analysis, and Google's pages describe no invoicing or reconciling action. OpenAI's dots pages give one tester anecdote of a dot preparing an invoice and sending it after approval, and list invoice processing only under enterprise specialist-dot pilots. No accounting app is named on the dots pages.
So for an owner whose pain is unpaid invoices, Duet's pages make the most specific promise and Gemini's make the most specific analysis promise. The failure case is the reconciliation nobody checked: all three vendors say their assistants make mistakes, and an invoice reminder sent to the wrong customer is a mistake the owner wears. Our Claude for small business guide covers what the QuickBooks connection can and cannot read.
Acts in the books, with approval
Checks for unpaid invoices and drafts reminders; payroll via Gusto; a tester worked invoices store by store. Every send waits for approval.
Analyses the numbers
Turns spreadsheets, receipts and purchase records into graphics and models. No invoice or reconciliation action is described on Google's pages.
One anecdote, no named app
OpenAI's dots pages name no accounting or payroll app. Invoice processing appears only in enterprise specialist-dot pilots.
Meta's reference point
Meta's September posts name QuickBooks and Stripe among Muse's small-business connectors, with nothing sent or spent without approval. US and Canada.
06 — MarketingJob 3: marketing assets and the only product that touches Google Ads.
Gemini is the one product whose own pages support Google Ads. A Google Ads connected app answers questions like how your campaigns are performing and, per Google's help page, may open your Google Ads account in a separate tab to complete tasks; it is available everywhere both Google Ads and Gemini are supported, in English only. The Business Profile connection can draft review replies and posts. The hub's brand-style feature lets an owner upload a website, brand kit, fonts or colour palette, and Google says Gemini retains that style so later assets stay on-brand without re-uploading the guidelines.
Businesses can now define their brand style in Gemini by uploading their website, brand kit, fonts, or color palettes.Vishnu Sivaji, Senior Director, Gemini App, Google blog, October 20, 2026
Duet's marketing examples are a social campaign in Canva, HubSpot follow-ups and LinkedIn job posts; Google Ads is not named. Dots' examples are content-creator and launch material; no ad platform is named. For completeness, Meta's Muse connects Meta ad accounts, Instagram analytics and Klaviyo, per Meta's September posts. The failure case is the obvious one for an agency reader: an assistant that can open your Ads account in a tab and complete tasks has write access to your spend, and Google's pages describe no confirmation rules for it. Until they do, keep the Ads connection on an account with a budget cap you would accept being spent.
07 — Store and PaymentsJobs 4 and 5: running the store and spending money.
Anthropic's post says Duet can set up, design and manage a Shopify store, with a richer visual editor marked coming soon, and can check out with Shop Pay. Google names Shopify and Wix as connected apps and Google's connected-apps table says the Shopify app can manage a storefront, process orders, track inventory and create listings, for US users only, in English, on a personal Google Account. OpenAI's dots pages name no store platform; Shopify appears only in a DevDay recap image caption about plugins, not about dots.
On payments, Duet's rules are the most detailed. It pays through Link, Stripe's wallet, with a virtual card so the real card number is not shared, needs approval in the Link app for each purchase, needs a US payment method, cannot make recurring payments, and cannot move money between accounts even with approval. Dots can buy with cards already saved on a merchant's site, with approval, and must hand transfers between financial accounts back to the user. Gemini's hub pages state no payment capability. Our wider personal agents comparison covers Muse and Manus on the same questions.
08 — Approval RulesWhat each one asks before it acts.
For a business owner the approval rules matter more than the model name, because they decide what can go wrong without you. Anthropic draws a fixed line: before Duet sends a message, makes a payment, signs a document or deletes anything, it shows what it is about to do and waits, and some actions stay off-limits even with approval, including trading securities, moving money between accounts and accessing someone else's account. Actions pass through what Anthropic calls its auto mode classifier. OpenAI lets you choose per type of action between four behaviours, take action without asking, take action if pre-approved, ask before taking action, and hand off to you, and always confirms before permanently deleting data, installing software from an unrecognised source or granting new security-sensitive access; changing a password or transferring money between accounts is handed back to the user. Google's hub pages describe no general confirmation rules; the one exception found is the Dropbox app, where Google says deleting, sharing or changing permissions on files must be confirmed.
| Action | Claude Duet | ChatGPT Dots | Gemini hub |
|---|---|---|---|
| Send a message or email | Shows it and waits for approval | Your rule, from "without asking" to "hand off" | Not stated |
| Make a purchase | Approval in Link for each one-time card; no recurring | Saved merchant cards, with approval | Not stated |
| Delete data | Shows it and waits | Always confirms for permanent deletion | Dropbox app: you must confirm deletes; not stated for the hub |
| Move money between accounts | Off-limits even with approval | Handed back to you | Not stated |
| Change business hours or reply to reviews | Not named on its pages | Not named on its pages | Yes, via Business Profile; no confirmation rule described |
| Act in your Google Ads account | Not named | Not named | May open the account in a tab to complete tasks; no rule described |
09 — FitWho should start now, and who should wait.
No winner, but a clear routing. The grid below is our judgement, built on the vendors' stated borders and features above. It assumes the owner wants one assistant, not three, and that an unavailable product is not a choice.
Three groups should wait on all of them. Anyone whose work runs on Microsoft 365: Duet does not support it yet, and Google's Ads and Business Profile connections do not work on work accounts. Anyone under 18 or buying for someone under 18: OpenAI excludes them from dots. And anyone who cannot accept an assistant making mistakes while following its own rules, which is a limitation all three vendors state about their own product. The wider question of what a small business should automate first is in our small business AI adoption guide, and the sequencing we use with clients is part of our AI transformation work.
10 — ConclusionThree products, two kinds, one border map.
Pick by where you are and what job hurts most, connect one app at a time, and read the approval rules before the feature list.
Claude Duet is the cheapest way into an always-on agent, at $20 a month on Pro, with the most small-business apps named and the firmest approval rules, and it is a US-only waitlist. ChatGPT Dots cost from $100 a month, give the owner the most control over how often they are asked, keep dot conversations off the usage meter, and on Pro are not sold in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK, though Business Premium covers all supported ChatGPT regions. Gemini's hub names no plan and no price, does marketing and analysis rather than agent work, and is the only one of the three whose pages touch Google Ads.
All of that is as the vendors state it on October 21, 2026, and all three products are days or weeks old. The borders will move, the prices may, and the approval rules are the part to re-read each time they do.